Women's Basketball

Baylor's Sheila Lambert Wins Prestigious Award

March 12, 2002

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - Sheila Lambert, a 5-foot-7 guard and a first-team All-Big 12 Conference selection as both a junior and senior from seventh-ranked Baylor University, has been named recipient of the 19th annual Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award, presented by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame to the nation's outstanding female collegian 5-feet-8 and under who has excelled athletically and academically.

Lambert's Baylor coach, Kim Mulkey-Robertson, was the recipient of the first-ever Frances Pomeroy Naismith award in 1984 while starring at Louisiana Tech. It marks the first time in the award's history that a coach and player have both been selected. Mulkey-Robertson's Baylor team, the No. 2 seed in the NCAA Tournament's East Regional, will play host to15th-seeded Bucknell on Friday.

Lambert will receive her award on Wednesday, March 27 at the Russell Athletic/WBCA Coach of the Year Banquet at the women's Final Four in San Antonio, Texas. The Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award, named in honor of James Naismith's daughter-in-law, was selected by a panel of representatives from the Women's Basketball Coaches Association. To earn the award, the recipient must demonstrate leadership, character, loyalty, all-around basketball ability and excellence in the classroom.

Lambert, a native of Seattle, Washington, is a finalist for the Conseco Nancy Lieberman Step Up Award presented to the best point guard in NCAA Division I. The catalyst behind Baylor's 26-5 season, Lambert was recently named to the Big 12 Conference All-Tournament Team after averaging 21.6 points and 8.3 assists in three games, including 30 points and 7 assists in the opening game against Texas Tech.

In just two seasons at Baylor after transferring from Grayson County College in Denison, Texas, Lambert ranks third on Baylor's career assist list (378, 6.2 apg) and seventh in steals (189, 3.1 spg).

A double figures scorer in 29 of 31 games this season, including 14 games with 20 points or more, Lambert became a 1,000 point scorer in just 48 collegiate games. Heading into the NCAA Tournament she had tallied 1,283 points (21.0 ppg), 13th best in school history.

This season, Lambert was named Big 12 Conference Player of the Year by the Dallas Morning News, MVP of the Nevada Bell Classic and All-Tournament at the Hawaii Invitational.

As a both a senior and junior, Lambert has led the Lady Bears in scoring, assists and steals. This season, she averaged 20.0 ppg., 6.3 apg and 3.2 spg. As a junior at Baylor, Lambert started every game in being named Big 12 Newcomer of the Year, First-Team All-Big 12 and an Associated Press honorable mention All-America. She led the Lady Bears in scoring (22.1 ppg), minutes played (35.4) assist (6.06 apg) and steals (3.0 spg). She also broke the school single-season assist record with 182, a figure she surpassed in the 2001-2002 season with 196.

Lambert arrived at Baylor with impressive credentials. At Grayson County College, she was a two-time NJCC First-Team All-America and a two-time Region V NJCAA Player of the Year. Her final season, Lambert led Grayson to a third place national finish and averaged 23.2 ppg, 6.1 rpg and 7.9 assists.

A graduate of Chief Sealth High School in Seattle, Washington, Lambert was the Washington State Player of the Year in 1998 and was a member of both the USA Today and Parade Magazine All-America. As a senior, Lambert averaged 25.7 ppg, 12.0 rpg, 6.0 apg and 4.0 spg. She set or tied eight state-tournament (3A) scoring records, including most points in a game (42), steals in a game (9) and most points in the tournament (128).

Previous winners of the female Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award:
1984 Kim Mulkey, Louisiana Tech
1985 Maria Stack, Gonzaga (Washington)
1986 Kamie Ethridge, Texas
1987 Rhonda Windham, Southern California
1988 Suzie McConnell, Penn State
1989 Paulette Backstrom, Bowling Green
1990 Julie Dabrowski, New Hampshire College
1991 Shanya Evans, Providence College
1992 Rosemary Kisorek, West Virginia
1993 Dena Evans, Virginia
1994 Nicole Levesque, Wake Forest
1995 Amy Dodrill, Johns Hopkins
1996 Jennifer Rizzotti, University of Connecticut
1997 Jennifer Howard, North Carolina State
1998 Angie Arnold, Johns Hopkins
1999 Becky Hammon, Colorado State
2000 Helen Darling, Penn State
2001 Niele Ivey, Notre Dame

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame pays tribute to the game's inventor, Dr. James Naismith. Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the birthplace of basketball, the world's only Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves basketball at every level - professional, collegiate, scholastic, international, men and women. Featuring countless exhibits, memorabilia and interactive areas, the Basketball Hall of Fame is a major tourist attraction located near Boston, Hartford and New York City. There are 241 basketball legends and four teams enshrined into the Basketball Hall of Fame.

Print Friendly Version