Track & Field

Morgan Stewart Named Big 12 Newcomer of the Year

March 15, 2018

IRVING, Texas - After a stellar indoor season, Baylor track and field freshman sprinter Morgan Stewart was named the 2018 Big 12 Female Newcomer of the Year, the league office announced Thursday.

The Houston, Texas native won the Big 12 Indoor 600-yard title in a personal-best time of 1:20.45. The mark also went down as the seventh-fastest time in program history. Stewart became the first of three Big 12 champions at last month's conference meet and beat out five upperclassmen in the finals to claim the title.

After one indoor season, Stewart is a top-10 program performer in the 600 yards and 800 meters. Among her top-three finishes this season, she earned second at the Power Five Invitational in the 600 meters and made the all-time list in the 800 meters at the Texas A&M Quadrangular.

Stewart is just the third BU female to receive the conference's indoor newcomer/freshman honor, joining Nicole Jones (2007) and Taylor Bennett (2016).

Also earning conference yearly awards were Kansas' Hussain Al Hizam (Male Performer of the Year) and Sharon Lokedi (Female Performer of the Year), Texas Tech's Wes Kittley (Men's Coach of the Year), Kansas' Stanley Redwine (Women's Coach of the Year) and Texas Tech's Divine Oduduru (Male Newcomer of the Year).

To stay current on all things Baylor Track, follow the team on social media: @BaylorTrack.

Male Performer of the Year: Hussain Al Hizam (Kansas)
Female Performer of the Year: Sharon Lokedi (Kansas)
Male Coach of the Year: Wes Kittley (Texas Tech)
Female Coach of the Year: Stanley Redwine (Kansas)
Male Newcomer of the Year: Divine Oduduru (Texas Tech)
Female Newcomer of the Year: Morgan Stewart (Baylor)

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned